Immaculate Conception Logo

Immaculate Conception Church

Millhousen, Indiana

The Seven Sacraments

A sacrament is said to be, "a visible sign of God's invisible grace".

The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions. - Catechism of the Catholic Church 1131

The seven sacraments include Baptism, Penance, the Eucharist, Confirmation, the Annointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life; they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life. - Catechism of the Catholic Church 1210


The Sacrament of Baptism is scheduled by appointment. Please call the parish office about sacramental preparation and to schedule your celebration.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation is available before Mass every Sunday from 7:30 AM to 7:45 AM. During the seasons of Lent and Advent, there will be dedicated cohort-wide Penance Services.

The Eucharist

If you are not able to attend Mass and receive the Eucharist, please call the parish office so that someone may take Communion to you.


In order to be confirmed, you must be attending Faith Formation classes. Students are confirmed as Juniors in High School. To sign up for Faith Formation classes, please contact our Administrator of Religious Education.

Annointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Annointing is available upon request.

Holy Orders

If you feel that God is calling you to serve the Church in extraordinary ways, consider checking out the Archdiocese's Vocations Office's website, talk to a priest or nun, or go to Adoration.


Preparation for the Sacrament of Marriage requires at least six months. Call the parish office before setting the date for your wedding.